Future Business Tribe Building

Seth Godin’s recent blog post about what makes a great blogger got me thinking, who is my tribe? I initially started this blog in order to help organize my thinking and progress my ideas beyond meandering thoughts. But, MS Word could have done that. There is another reason why I blog. I am hoping that like minded people (my tribe) will find my posts interesting enough to want to dialogue on these subjects. Thereby, taking the ideas to another level.

So that brings me back to Seth’s question which is, “who is my tribe?”. After thinking about this, I believe that my tribe is made up of those who are passionate that the way we do business can/should be improved. That may be too broad for a tribe, but I am hoping not.

My life on the road to “Future Business”

  • Started with a general interest in IT as a means to do things more efficiently
  • With the the advent of the web I turned to eCommerce as a great new channel through which to sell
  • Late 90’s I focused on Systems Requirements Analysis and Process Consulting as a way to turn business goals into realities
  • Around 2000 I realized the power of Knowledge Management as a game-changing concept and have been hooked into various flavors of it ever since

Any of this sound familiar? Are you a part of this tribe?

Marcus Buckingham wrote a book called “Now, Discover Your Strengths” and with it you get access to his StrengthsFinder application which, after a 100 or so questions, will tell you his interpretation of what your strengths are. Mine always comes back as #1: Future Focused. Anyone else get that in the top 5?

I am just a novice tribe builder and while I am just as happy joining other tribes, I do like to be a leader wherever I go. Any tribes that you suggest I should join based on the info above?

2 responses to “Future Business Tribe Building

  1. I think you might want to join the tribe of people in business who are realizing that the only way to change how we do business is to change the way we educate our children. Since you are interested in Marcus’ work, I thought you might also be interested in the work of Jenifer Fox. It may both touch your professional practice and have personal resonance.

    Jenifer is a lifelong educator. In 2007, she wrote Your Child’s Strengths, (Viking 2008) with an introduction by Marcus Buckingham. Right after finishing it, she traveled with Marcus on his Go Put Your Strengths to Work Tour to show the results a strengths approach can yield in a high school setting. Jenifer’s book describes how to get children involved in strengths discovery from an early age, not just high school. It both describes why this is important with great stories from schools, but also provides practical tools to get started. I think it is worth mentioning to someone like you because it helps parent and teachers help kids discover their strengths before they get into the workplace and find themselves in jobs which don’t energize them.

    Since publication, Jenifer has been traveling the country and spreading her message to schools businesses and various organizations interested in strengths. I am reaching out to you as an adult interested in developing his own strengths whose work touches families and children who can also use this practice.

    I hope you will take a look at this important book. If you would talk about it on your website, I would be happy to send you a copy. Let me know. Thanks and good luck with your work.

  2. Nick, thx so much for your insights. You are right on that education and the culture of the next generation are going to impact business more than any consultants can.

    As it happens I do have experience with several K-12 education projects. If you have not already seen it, you can view some of my thoughts about education in my Future Education post: https://swanthinks.wordpress.com/2008/11/04/future-education/

    I would be happy to review your book on this site as well as posting some comments to my Twitter audience. Connect with me directly (Twitter or email) and I will give you my address.

Leave a Reply

