Twitter Etiquette

Twitter is the new wild west of collaboration. Just as with any new technology, people are beginning to rally around certain points of “proper use”

Chris Brogan (@chrisbrogan) published a guest post on this topic at his immensely popular blog. In that post Keith Burtis laid out several best practices for how to use and and not use twitter so that your contributions will be best received.

One of the comments on that blog post mentions another great source written by Jeremiah (@jowyang) from Forrester Research

My personal take on this is that I look for people who have a high ratio of interesting community of interest posts over random personal tidbits like “I am feeding my cat”. “I love cheeseburgers”, or even “Finally got on the wi-fi here”. Especially if the personal tidbits are frequent and therefore crowding out community of interest posts from other authors in my stream.

It is not only possible, but easy to create multiple streams (handles) on twitter. If your brand is strong enough that people will hang on every word that you broadcast, then by all means set up a profile designed to just communicate out. But, remember that there will be some portion of your audience that wants to communicate back. If you have decided that online collaboration is important to your business, then make the time for  the conversation to ensure they are feeling heard. One of many Twitter tools that @briansolis blogged will be very helpful for companies looking to Twitter in different ways: Multiple Account Twitter Tweeting

As for my personal brand, I think perhaps that I am “broadcasting” too much and should seek to “converse” more. The only downside with Twitter conversing seems to me that the inputs which I see from those I am following do not match those of my followers. So, my public response to something will mean that my receivers may have no idea what the original message was. This means I either have to retweet or I have to provide the context. The latter is difficult to do and add more value on top in just 140 chars.

Leave a Reply

